My loves · NBA · Sports

this is a first

Better late than never….

So on Friday night I did something I’ve never done before. I actually took notes while I sat in my seats watching the Hawks play. And I actually enjoyed it.

So, I give you now my premiere game recap. It is amateur at best, but at least I had fun!

Overall:

I was extremely impressed that the Hawks were able to stay neck and neck with the Heat for the majority of the game. That may have been due to the fact that Wade was out because of injury, but whatever the reason, I liked it.

Game breakdown – by quarter – kind of:

The Hawks starting line up was: Teague, Korver, Stevenson, Smith and Horford. The Heat had Bosh, James, Chalmers, Battier and Miller. The game started with James making the first basket and then it basically went back and forth and stayed within a few points. Teague had a couple of fouls early in the game which gave Harris some time off the bench.  I feel like Harris needs to slow down a little when he’s heading down the court after a rebound. Mistakes are made when there is no need to hurry. Both teams took the lead on and off and the first quarter ended with a 25-25 tie.

Morrow interestingly outscored everyone in the first half with 13 points. Smith was making the usual bad choices for shots and missing the majority of them. Teague scored 2 points in the first half (12:30 of play). That is outrageous. Add to that a pathetic 30 combined points from Teague, Korver, Horford, Smith and Tolliver at the end of the half. Somehow the Hawks were up 46-42.

>Halftime show was fantastic: David Garibaldi – a phenomenal painter. Painted a picture of a soldier upside down using black light paint etc all to music. Incredible. Goosebumps!

Third quarter not overly exciting other than us remaining neck and neck. With 8:08 left in the 3rd our top scoring starters were Smith and Korver – both with 9 points. Again I say: pathetic. Morrow however continued to lead the Hawks with 17 points.

Lou Williams (a favorite of mine) didn’t score ANY points until 0:14 left in the 3rd. If only our boys would have been on better form…. End of third Heat led with 72-71. Zaza scored his first points with 9:00 left in the game. Teague bounced back during the final quarter. He passed Smith (9) and Horford (8) with 12pts at almost mid-point of 4th. With 4:40 left Heat led 85-79. With 2:58 left Horford gave us the lead. With 2:24 left the game was tied. With 13 seconds left it was a 4 point game to the Heat… final score: Heat 95 Hawks 89.

While we lost the game we still did well to keep it close. Although I can’t help but feel our boys weren’t on top form and we really can’t afford for that to happen when we are playing a team like Miami. Thankfully they weren’t doing so well either and, of course, they didn’t have Wade.

In the end, Teague was our best player with 20 points, 3 rebounds and 11 assists. All but 2 rebounds and 2 points were achieved in the 2nd half (and in 27 minutes of total playing time). What if he had played that well in the first half too….

Before I sign off I just want to point out that Anthony Morrow scored 17 points in 15 minutes of play. I’m impressed.

Look out for my next attempt at this on Monday, November 19th when we take on the Magic!

EJ

PS: I found this and got a little giddy… I know, I’m a geek and a rookie for not knowing about it before. But this will now be a daily stop for me after every Hawks game. LOVE IT! http://scores.espn.go.com/nba/playbyplay?gameId=400277792

Leave a comment